Interactive Bar

Google Search
Google Translate
Log in
School Logo


Welcome to the Furze Platt Primary Federation (FPPF) Governors' section.


The FPPF Governing Body governs Furze Platt Infant & Junior School and comprises of volunteers consisting of elected Parent and staff governors and appointed Community and LEA Governors. We meet once per term, supported by the Clerk of Governors.


We work in partnership with the Executive Headteacher, Heads of Schools and staff to carry out the following:


  • Set strategic direction for the school and contribute to the school’s improvement plan
  • Ensure accountability and monitor and evaluate school performance
  • Support the Executive Head teacher, school leaders and staff to provide an excellent education for all pupils


All Governors have links locally and many of us have direct links with the school as current or past parents. We come from a variety of backgrounds and professions and through our work can often offer the school a different perspective on issues.  We are a committed group who work hard to support the school and the Head Teacher as a “critical friend”.


Each Governor takes a lead on an area of school development and may also be responsible to evaluate progress of school development areas though a working party.


Governors are elected /appointed for a 4 year term. Details of all the Governors and their elected/appointed dates can be found below.

If you wish to contact any of the Governors please in the first instance contact the school office or the Excecutive Head Teacher who will be happy to take your details and arrange for the appropriate Governor to contact you.


Mr Derek Moss

Chair of the FPPF Governing Body


Governor Objectives 2019-20:

1. To support the schools through setting up of the FPPF. 

2. To demonstrate rigorous support and challenge to Senior Leadership Team in the delivery of key OFSTED targets. 

3. To help guide the schools creation of the federation's vision, values and mission statement and to ensure these are known and communicated effectively to all stakeholder groups. (All via Parent survey scrutiny/attendance at parent events; Teachers by engagement beyond SLT (via Survey's and event attendance); Pupil engagement through Governors Into School interviews and school council meetings.

4. To ensure that the Governing Body retains appropriate high level of skills and competencies through its succession process. 

5. To support the Senior Leadership Team in reviewing and re-stating the strategic vision and ambitions of the schools. 


Current Governor information


Name Representation Link role or area of expertise

Term of office


Term of office


Suzanne Admans Associate GDPR September 2019  
Louise Axford Co-opted

Vice Chair of Governors

Data & Curriculum

Pay Committee

EHT Appraisal

September 2019  
Sarah Batkin Associate Health & Safety September 2019  
Liz Bharj Clerk  Clerk to the Governors September 2019  
Matthew Blacknell Associate Data & Curriculum September 2019 November 2020
Alistair Brumage Co-opted

Pay Committee & finance

September 2019 December 2020
David Gordon-Smith Co-opted


Pay Committee

September 2019  
Helen Mastrilli Parent

Pupil Premium


September 2019  
Simon McCallion Parent Safeguarding September 2019 January 2021
Derek Moss Co-opted

Chair of Governors


Health & Safety

EHT Appraisal

September 2019  
Antonia Spinks Parent Data & Curriculum September 2019  
Jeremy Spooner Local Authority



September 2019  
Iain Thomas Associate SEND September 2019  
Mike Wallace Executive Headteacher FPPF   September 2019  
Mel Wood Co-opted

Data & Curriculum

EHT Appraisal

September 2019  
Helen Young Parent Safeguarding September 2019  

Register of Business Interests:

None at this point of recording

Governor Profiles